Odd places I’ve found yoga, maybe you have too

Lately, I have been branching out a bit.  And I don’t mean stretching my arms out in tree pose, letting them move with nature’s wind…feeling my own divinity as it mingles with the Orgasmic Universal Love.  (Errr…I mean Cosmic Universal Love.)  What I mean is exploring what the terrestrial world has to offer.  (Some might call this, REALITY…but let’s not get into semantics here.) 

And, with this exploration, I’ve realized that yoga can be found in many mediums the world has to offer.  Here is a short list I’ve compiled:

1)  The anime series GTO (Great Teacher Onizuka)  He is an incredibly horny, 22-year-old, ex-motorcycle gang leader who decides to become a middle school teacher.  Academics isn’t his strong suit…so he just teaches life lessons.

2)  My catholic, student therapist.  Because she’s a student, she doesn’t actually get paid to listen to me.  But she does anyways and offers sometimes valuable insights to the way I’ve created my life. 

3)  Drinking and dancing.  Can YOU think of a better way to be in the moment? 

4)  Writing.  A way I can express myself and not actually care what someone else thinks about me.  In other words, I can be me…really me.  Not who somebody else thinks I am or how I want somebody to think of me as. 

I guess what I’m trying to say, is that yoga is not just meant as studying the scriptures, chanting, praying, practicing in class or smiling at someone when you really want to say Eff off. 

Until next time…

2 responses to “Odd places I’ve found yoga, maybe you have too

  1. 3 and 4 definitely. And I like your ownership in 2 – way you’ve created your life. Not bobbing along helplessly. I want to add another place: when my kids fall asleep in my lap. Holding them, and them holding me, nothing else matters in the world.

Leave a Reply

