Karma ain’t no bitch, it’s a law

Yeah, that’s right!  lol…

But seriously,  this has been on my mind recently.  Everything in this world is ruled by the Law of Causation–which simply states that every action (be it physical, emotional, psychological, chemical, biological) has an effect and vice versa.  On a very simple level, for instance…if we exercise and eat a balanced diet, abstain from smoking and partying, we will have a healthy body.  If we are lazy and eat Taco Bell everyday, we probably will have an unhealthy, diseased body.

Now, let’s segway to karma…the Law of Karma states that not only are we a product of our past, but, we have the opportunity and freedom to control the outcome of our future.  That first part seems so disheartening…and yeah, it’s really hard.  It’s really hard to take an accurate assessment of who we are and where we are and admit that it was us who got us here…(maybe “here” is a complete and total mess…I don’t know!) 

A real trainwreck

Is this your life?

The awesome part is, that we can fix it if we want!  That’s right folks, I control my future!  If I want a certain person as a romantic partner…I can act presently on that…what I mean is, I can act in a way that is honorable and will help me to attain that goal.  I wouldn’t decide who I want to be with and then end up fooling around with other people…because if I did that, then the person I want to be with probably won’t want to be with me.  (So simple,yet sometimes so complicated!)  If I want a job that’s going to satiate me, I’m not going to switch from working at MacDonald’s to Ruby Tuesdays…get what I’m saying here?  It’s tough to examine these things.  And, it’s tough to implement these changes because we are so set in our ways of doing things.  

Every action I make is meaningful and has an effect (or consequence).  If I say something mean behind somebody’s back, and somehow it gets to that person…their feelings will be hurt by MY ACTIONS.  Even if my intention wasn’t to be hurtful…that action of gossiping IS hurtful, no matter what.  And even if it meant “nothing” to me (hello Ego! how are you doing today?), it surely meant something to that person.  Which, by default renders it meaningful.  Now, the tricky part is, is to truly understand this and take the time to THOUGHTFULLY decide if what I’m doing is right for me and who I aspire to be.  If I do not take the time to consider my actions, negative effects are sure to follow.  And, I have to ask myself:  Am I the type of person who is willing to sacrifice someone else’s feelings in order to gossip, cheat, steal, lie, whatever, etc??  Is what I want worth it?  Or, do I want something better than that?  Whatever the answer is, is ok…as long as I am honest with myself because that’s who I have to answer to when all is said and done. 

We can think all we want, which is wonderful…we can have the best intentions, which is wonderful…however, if we are unable to implement them into action, which requires assessing ourselves and the action at hand from all angles we cannot guide ourselves to change our futures for what we deem best.  I know it’s hard, but…

How empowering is that?!

One response to “Karma ain’t no bitch, it’s a law

Leave a Reply

